Chinese Caligraphy Competition held at ATU

Chinese Caligraphy Competition held at ATU

Report by the Directorate for International Academic Cooperation –

(Source: ATU's Public Relations)


Following the joint efforts made by the Embassy of China in Tehran and Allameh Tabataba'i University, a Chinese Calligraphy Competition was held for Chinese language students at Iranian universities in April 2022.

This competition was held on the occasion of Chinese Language Day (20 April), and 103 Chinese language students from Allameh Tabataba'i University, Shahid Beheshti University, and the University of Isfahan competed.

The works received from the students were judged in two stages. The judges of the first stage included Dr Hamed Vafaei and Dr Amin Bazrafshan from the University of Tehran; Dr Ahmadreza Arian from the University of Isfahan; Dr Mohammad Reza Elhami from the Iran-China Friendship Association; Dr Mohammad Reza Raisi from Shahid Beheshti University, and Dr Sara Almasieh from Allameh Tabataba'i University were the judges of this competition. In this stage, a total of 24 works were selected and introduced to be judged in the second stage.

In the second stage, the Chinese Ambassador to Tehran's wife, well familiar with Chinese calligraphy; Dr Nasrin Dastan from the Academy of Arts, and Dr Seyed Jalal Faraji, Director of International Academic Cooperation at Allameh Tabataba'i University, judged the 24 works that made it to the second stage. Of the 24 works, one was awarded the first prize, two were awarded the second prize, and three pieces were chosen for the third place. Ten pieces were also selected as "Commendable Works".

At an event attended by Allameh Tabataba'i University officials, the Chinese Ambassador to Iran, and the cultural advisor at the same embassy, the winners of the first, second, and third places and holders of the ten Commendable Works received their awards from Allameh Tabataba'i University President and Chinese Ambassador to Iran. The prize winners' names are as follows.

First Prize

1. Farnoush Sami


Second Prize

2. Parnian Parhizgar
3. Motahareh Salari


Third Prize

4. Bahar Moayedi
5. Fatemeh Khairandish
6. Nazanin Manouchehri


Commendable Works

7. Fatemeh Behzadnejad
8. Kowsar Radmanesh
9. Parisa Safarpour
10. Hadis Jahanbakhshi
11. Sara Tabatabai
12. Fatemeh Rastgou
13. Hannaneh Faridi
14. Fatemeh Saeedi Chaharbaghi
15. Yousef Naderi
16. Mahsa Biglari Azizabadi